MACMILLAN, Kenneth: 3 Ballets - Concerto / Elite Syncopations / The Judas Tree (Royal Ballet, 2010)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
Elite Syncopations

The Judas Tree


Date of Concert: 24-03-2010
Venue: Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London
Playing Time: 01:46:05
Catalogue Number: OA1038D
UPC: 809478010388

MacMillan's vision has been vital in shaping The Royal Ballet's style and repertory, and what better way to appreciate his art than with this rare chance to experience three contrasting works in a single performance. Abstract, dramatic, humorous – this programme gives a wonderfully varied introduction not just to MacMillan's work but to the beauty and dramatic power of ballet itself. Concerto, to Shostakovich's Second Piano Concerto, contrasts moments of exuberance and elegiac reflection. The Judas Tree places a single woman among 13 men to enact a harrowing event that is recognizably contemporary but with biblical overtones. Elite Syncopations completes the programme with a sparkling evocation of a dance hall that brings ragtime rhythms to the dance, and a ragtime band to the stage.

Bonus features:

- Introductions by Deborah MacMillan

Part 1


Part 2


Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Select language: