JOACHIM, J.: Violin Concerto, Op. 11, "In the Hungarian Style" (Suyoen Kim) (from Naxos 8.570991)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Joachim, Joseph - Composer
Violin Concerto in D Minor, Op. 11, "in ungarischer Weise" (In the Hungarian Style)

Playing Time: 00:06:08
Catalogue Number: NVF0026

A colleague of Mendelssohn, the Schumann's and Brahms, the virtuoso violinist Joseph Joachim was himself a composer of note. It is a tour de force by a highly gifted twenty year old. The Opus 11 Violin Concerto is a Classical three movements frequently coloured by Hungarian inflections, most strikingly in the 'gypsy finale' which calls for astonishing technical control, immense stamina and fiery abandon from the soloist. Suyoen Kim is the Winner of the 2006 Hannover International Violin Competition.

Part 1

Select language: