HAYDN, F.J.: Symphonies Nos. 85, "La reine" and 86 (Classical Concert, 2000)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Symphony No. 85 in B-Flat Major, Hob.I:85, "La reine" (The Queen) (Classical Concert, 2000)
Symphony No. 86 in D Major, Hob.I:86 (Classical Concert, 2000)

Playing Time: 00:57:57
Television Director: Meth, Agnes
Catalogue Number: MID1324494

Roger Norrington conducts one of Europe's leading chamber orchestra, the Camerata Academica Salzburg, in performances of Haydn's Symphonies Nos. 82-87, known as the Paris Symphonies.

These expressive works really allow an ensemble to show off. Commissioned by the Comte d'Ogny, one of the financial backers of a Parisian concert society called 'Concert de la Loge Olympique', and written during 1785 and 1786, the symphonies are among Haydn's most scintillating. Freed from composing exclusively for Nikolaus Esterhazy in 1779, but constrained in what he was producing for publishers, he rose to the challenge of this commission and created music that was both personal and original.

Part 1

Select language: