BEETHOVEN, L. van: Symphonies Nos. 4 and 5 / Die Geschopfe des Prometheus (excerpts) (Munch)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
Conductor: Munch, Charles

Die Geschopfe des Prometheus (The Creatures of Prometheus), Op. 43
Symphony No. 4 in B flat major, Op. 60
Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67

Venue: Sanders Theatre, Harvard University
Playing Time: 01:23:00
Television Director: Davis, David M.
Catalogue Number: ICAD5016
UPC: 5060244550162

The ICA Classics Legacy series represents an historic account of performances by some of the world's greatest artists. This video features some of the earliest televised concerts with the Boston Symphony Orchestra and their music director, Charles Munch.

This performance of extracts from The Creatures of Prometheus is a rare one, Munch having only conducted the ballet at the BSO in one season. He breathes life into his performances of Symphonies Nos. 4 and 5, which are executed with excitement, exuberance and panache.

Part 1

Select language: