BRAHMS, J.: Piano Concerto No. 2 / CHOPIN, F.: Scherzo No. 1 / Polonaise No. 6 / LISZT, F.: Funerailles (Ohlsson)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Brahms, Johannes - Composer
Chopin, Fryderyk - Composer
Liszt, Franz - Composer

Playing Time: 01:18:00
Television Director: Butler, Peter
Producer: Lough, Robin
Catalogue Number: ICAD5013
UPC: 5060244550131

The ICA Classics Legacy series presents a collection of historic performances by some of the world's greatest artists. These performances are released on video for the first time, incorporating rare archive footage that has been expertly and lovingly restored.

The winner of the 1970 Chopin Piano Competition and one of the leading exponents of Chopin's works, Ohlsson displays brilliance and depth of feeling in this recital performance, filmed only four years after he won first prize. He demonstrates both subtlety and warmth of sound in his performance of Brahms's Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat major, where his technical mastery is also evident. This video features exhilarating and spontaneous interpretations from a true master of the piano.

Part 1

Select language: