You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Elgar, Edward - Composer

Playing Time: 01:20:51
Catalogue Number: EuroArts8522
UPC: 899132000541

The great Israeli-born violinist Itzhak Perlman has already left a huge number of sound recordings of his interpretations; but it adds an extra dimension to be able to watch him execute, for instance, the brilliant spiccato bowing in Saint-Saens's Introduction and Rondo capriccioso. A master of the French style through his teacher Ivan Galamian, Perlman at 25 is seen in the first full flush of his talent. Ten years later, the mature soloist shows his total command of the modern Russian style of Prokofiev – at a BBC Symphony Orchestra golden jubilee concert – and the bitter-sweet romanticism of Elgar's massive, virtuosic concerto.

Part 1

Select language: