MENDELSSOHN, F.: Symphony No. 2, "Lobgesang" (Chailly)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Rihm, Wolfgang - Composer

Venue: Gewandhaus, Leipzig
Date of Concert: 02-09-2005
Playing Time: 01:53:00
Television Director: Beyer, Michael
Catalogue Number: EuroArts5466
UPC: 880242546685

Riccardo Chailly's inaugural concert as Kapellmeister of the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra in September 2005 was a feast of music by Mendelssohn, the orchestra’s first conductor. Capturing the full atmosphere of this unique musical event, ths video includes an overwhelming performance of Mendelssohn's Second Symphony, "Lobgesang" with its celebratory choral last movement and the ever-popular overture A Midsummer Night's Dream – both from critically revised new editions. Anne Schwanewilms and Peter Seiffert are the outstanding vocal soloists. The Gewandhaus Orchestra can look back on its history with pride - it has evolved into one of the world's most renowned orchestras working with the best international conductors. The bonus film Chailly in Leipzig: The Gewandhaus Orchestra welcomes its new Kapellmeister allows a glimpse into this new and fruitful relationship.

Part 1

Part 2

Select language: