EUROPA-KONZERT 2003 FROM LISBON - BARTOK, B. Concerto for Orchestra / MOZART, W.A.: Piano Concerto No. 20 (Boulez)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
Conductor: Boulez, Pierre

Ravel, Maurice - Composer
Bartok, Bela - Composer
Debussy, Claude - Composer

Venue: Mosteiro dos Jeronimos, Lisbon
Date of Concert: 01-05-2003
Playing Time: 01:39:38
Television Director: Coles, Bob
Producer: Smaczny, Paul
Catalogue Number: EuroArts5307
UPC: 0880242530790

The marvellous Portuguese pianist Maria Joao Pires was joined by Pierre Boulez and the Berlin Philharmonic for the European Concert 2003. Since 1991, when the Berlin Philharmonic gave their first European Concert, this annual musical summit in important cultural cities has become a brand name for excellent musicianship. This concert came from Lisbon and took place in a spectacular location, the 'Mosteiro dos Jeronimos' - an impressive monastery built in the early 16th century and a UNESCO-accredited World Heritage Site. The programme included Bartok's Concerto for Orchestra and Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 20 - a perfect programme choice, as Maria Joao Pires is a sought-after Mozart pianist and Pierre Boulez enjoys an excellent reputation as one of the greatest Bartok conductors ever.

Bonus features:

- A Portrait of Lisbon

- Picture Gallery: At Rehearsals

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Select language: