MENDELSSOHN, Felix: Symphony No. 3, "Scottish" / Piano Concerto No. 1 (Yuja Wang, Masur) (Verbier Festival, 2009)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
Soloist: Mesh, Leigh
Soloist: Wang, Yuja
Conductor: Masur, Kurt

Stravinsky, Igor - Composer

Date of Concert: 2009
Festival: Verbier Festival
Playing Time: 01:45:47
Television Director: Beziat, Philippe
Television Director: Juban, Pierre-Martin
Television Director: Martin, Francois-Rene
Catalogue Number: EUROARTS7924

These magnificent interpretations of three Mendelssohn works - two orchestral and one chamber - are given by the phenomenally talented young Chinese pianist Yuja Wang and other young performers. Praised in BBC Music Magazine for her "keen intelligence" and "staggering technique," Yuja Wang has also been described by the San Francisco Chronicle as "the sort of musician whose combination of talents appears in the world only rarely." The Verbier Festival Orchestra consists of musicians hand-picked from every part of the world. Here they are directed by the doyen of German Mendelssohn conductors, Kurt Masur.

Part 1

Part 2

Select language: