STRAUSS, R.: Metamorphosen / Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme / RAVEL, G.: Piano Concerto (Grimaud, V. Jurowski)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Strauss, Richard - Composer
Ravel, Maurice - Composer

Venue: Philharmonie, Paris
Date of Concert: 24-01-2009
Playing Time: 01:30:25
Television Director: Narboni, Louise
Catalogue Number: EUROARTS7873
UPC: 880242787385

In January 2009 at Paris's Cite de la Musique, the internationally renowned conductor Vladimir Jurowski led the Chamber Orchestra of Europe in a varied and imaginative programme that included Strauss's Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme and Metamorphosen, as well as Ravel's Piano Concerto in G. Their sensitive and insightful performance is reproduced here in full, and they are joined by award-winning French pianist Helene Grimaud in a lively rendition of Ravel's concerto, in which soloist and orchestra expertly tease out its whimsical lyricism and sonorous harmonies.

Part 1

Select language: