MENDELSSOHN, F.: Violin Concerto in E minor / Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor / Violin Sonata in F major (Mutter)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
Conductor: Masur, Kurt

Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64
Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor, Op. 49
Violin Sonata in F major

Venue: Gewandhaus, Leipzig
Date of Concert: 2008
Playing Time: 01:24:18
Television Director: Meth, Agnes
Catalogue Number: A05512289

One of the world's foremost violinists, Anne-Sophie Mutter is a musical celebrity known even by countless people who rarely listen to classical music. The artist and teacher, who promotes young musicians and commissions new works from contemporary composers, made her spectacular breakthrough under Herbert von Karajan at the 1977 Salzburg Easter Festival. She has since concertized at every major venue throughout the world. In 2008 she was awarded not only the prestigious Ernst von Siemens Music Award, but also the Leipzig Mendelssohn Award. The award ceremony in March 2008 was crowned by a gala concert at Leipzig's Gewandhaus with the Gewandhaus Orchestra under Kurt Masur, at which Mutter performed the Mendelssohn Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64 presented here.

Mutter has performed the Violin Concerto several times in her career. Joining her in Mendelssohn's Violin Sonata is pianist Andre Previn, who is also an internationally renowned conductor and composer. Previn accompanied Mutter in several Mozart Trios that are part of her "Mozart Project." He and cellist Lynn Harrell now interpret the D minor Trio with her. This is a stunning anthology of chamber and orchestral music from one of the most vibrant composers of the early Romantic Era, performed by top artists of today!

Part 1

Select language: