You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

The Places

Andalusia, in the south of the Iberian peninsula, is one of the fifteen autonomous administrative regions of modern Spain. It includes the provinces of Sevilla and Granada, which have their capitals at the cities of the same name.

The Music

Spanish composers are represented here by Granados and Albeniz, whose successful careers extended into the 20th century. Music by other composers reflects various connections with Spain. Seville is the setting for Mozart's operas The Marriage of Figaro and Don Giovanni, and for Rossini's Figaro opera, The Barber of Seville. Bizet's Carmen is centred on Seville, while Verdi's tragic opera The Force of Destiny, set in Spain and based on a Spanish play, ranges over a wider area.

Part 1


Select language: